Week 1 – Meal Plan

Standard

Thanks to my my lovely obsession with Pinterest, I have found many creative and easy ideas to keep my meal plans simple and delicious.  One key idea that I picked up is the creation of “breakfast muffins.”  Essentially, these are just mini omelettes that are pre-made every week and in my freezer so that in my morning tornado rush, I can simply pop them into  the toaster oven, and wala, as I make my non-fat latte to go, both my husband and I have a filling, nutritious, warm breakfast ready to grab on the go straight from the mini oven!  In my ‘breakfast muffins’ I simply put some whisked up eggs, (about 7), a splash of non-fat milk, and then a variety of veggies depending on what I have, usually a combination of a few of the following: mushroom, onion, tomato, scallions, or zucchini.  I pour the mixture into a muffin tin (making 10, one for each of us for each work day) and done!

Image

 

 

Meal Plan 1 – Week of November 12

 

Monday

Breakfast: 1 ‘breakfast muffin” & 1 slice of whole wheat toast with low-fat margarine + 1 non-fat latte

Snack: Raspberry non-fat yogurt

Lunch: 1 pita stuffed with 1/2 grilled chicken breast, tomato, lettuce, cucumber & 1/4 of 1 avocado

Dinner: Tuna melts & Tomato basil soup

Tuesday

Breakfast: 1 ‘breakfast muffin” & 1 slice of whole wheat toast with low-fat margarine + 1 non-fat latte

Snack: Strawberry non-fat yogurt

Lunch: 1 grilled chicken breast on a bun with lettuce, tomato and 1/4 of 1 avocado + 1 cup popcorn

Dinner: My version of Noodle-less lasagna (used zucchini and eggplant slices as ‘noodles’)

Wednesday

Breakfast: 1 ‘breakfast muffin” & 1 slice of whole wheat toast with low-fat margarine + 1 non-fat latte

Snack: Raspberry non-fat yogurt

Lunch: leftover Noodle-less lasagna 

Dinner: Asian Chicken lettuce wraps (chicken & veggie stir fry served with lettuce wraps)

Thursday 

Breakfast: 1 ‘breakfast muffin” & 1 slice of whole wheat toast with low-fat margarine + 1 non-fat latte

Snack :Peach non-fat yogurt

Lunch: leftover Noodle-less lasagna 

Dinner: Grilled chicken, quinoa taboulleh & mixed salad 

Friday

Breakfast: 1 ‘breakfast muffin” & 1 slice of whole wheat toast with low-fat margarine + 1 non-fat latte

Snack : Strawberry non-fat yogurt

Lunch: quinoa taboulleh & turkey sandwich on wheat bread

Dinner: SHABBOS DINNER 

As you can see, my week only goes from Monday to Friday.  This, I may find to be a problem in the very immediate future.  The truth is, Friday night and Saturday are shabbos, the Jewish Sabbath, so we are often out eating at friends or family, and I can not control what is made.  I can however control what I eat, and when we eat home, I can make a festive, yet still health conscious meal.  I will address this in a later post, and work with it as I see what works for me.  It is important to not let the two days of weekend sabotage your entire week, and I plan to use these first few weeks of my plan to create a suitable and follow-able plan of action for the weekend.  Sundays are our ‘eat out’ day.  Both my husband and I love to wine and dine, so a lot of time on Sundays we go out for a nice brunch or lunch, or to an afternoon BBQ/Braai, or out for supper.  These days will create new challenges for me as I find ways to dine out better and make better choices without creating a feeling that I am losing out on our Sunday treat.  

So that completes week 1’s menu.  The key is to stick to it exactly.  I can already say that on Monday I cheated, as last night after supper my dear husband got me all excited about dessert which led us to make a pot of popcorn.. but last night this wasn’t up for the world to see, and now it is.  I will be held accountable for that late night snacking, and hopefully the guilt I am feeling today will stop me from doing that again this week!

I have weighed in for the week, and I hope to report my first successful loss next week.

Image

Leave a comment